Do soldiers count how many bullets they have left?

Do soldiers count how many bullets they have left? by Roland Bartetzko

Answer by Roland Bartetzko:

All the time and every minute! The worst thing that a soldier can imagine is the enemy running at him, the soldier taking aim and- CLICK! Out of ammo!

During basic training you learn to be aware of the “ammunition situation”, but I think that even without prior instruction this sort of behavior comes naturally.

During combat I always knew exactly how many bullets I had left in my mags. Even if I fired only one shot I would remove the mag just to reload it for one bullet. The constant counting is also a good method to keep your brain busy and to get distracted from thoughts of fear and panic:

“I shot five bullets, that makes 25 left in the mag plus 4 times 30 in spare mags, plus 150 additional bullets in my bag, sums up to a total of?”

This becomes so ingrained that you can wake up combat soldiers in the middle of the night and they will tell you exactly how much ammo they have left.

Do soldiers count how many bullets they have left?

Leave a Reply

