Is Flipkart better than Amazon in India?

Answer by Nihal Sharma:

Definitely not. Not yet. It may get better, it may not. I will try to explain it through something which I experienced with a recent purchase.

I purchased a Dell Monitor (Dell U2414H 23.8 inch LCD Monitor Price in India – Buy Dell U2414H 23.8 inch LCD Monitor online at Flipkart.com). It was there in my wish-list for a very long time. A couple of days before the purchase, I had chance of witnessing Flipkart's Ping (Share Store Online – Buy Share Products Online at Best Price in India | Flipkart.com). Wow! Great feature, may be. Too much technical shit would be behind it. I was too overwhelmed and we were discussing about how aligning to technology can help Flipkart beat the shit out of Amazon. We said to each other that we should be loyal to Flipkart and use less of Amazon. I thought I should give it a try with my monitor. I did not even check other sites and straightways ordered it from FK with an option of express delivery. The thing arrives in the morning. Nice on time, packaging satisfactory enough. Hassle free experience till now.

I took the monitor back at my place (got it delivered in the office). Opened the package, struggled a lot to open it. Such a heavy packaging is done for the monitors! Mounted the monitor. Now I started looking for the power cable. Shit! It was not there. I was kind of sad about it and then thought that it was just a power cable, lets ask FK about it – they would manage it nicely. I called the customer care. Talked to a guy there, logged my complaint. He told me that it would take 24 hours to get some information around it. There was not much of politeness in the tone. But that's cool, we are used to having such customer care experience.

I thought tweeting to FK could help me better. So, I did. Got a response in less than 15 minutes. The initial tweet exchange:-

This is the situation next morning (around 11 am). Did not get any call from customer care folks – after nearly 13-14 hours of my complaint. I called them back and they said they were not having any info on it yet and I had to wait for at least 24 hours for something. Then these are some tweets exchanged.

Nothing substantial till the evening. Talked to the customer care a couple of times. They were asking me to return the product back. With such a heavy packaging, in no way I could pack it back. The return address had to be the office's address, strictly. Carrying it (loosely packed) to there would be again a difficult task. I shouted a bit but I knew this would not help in any way. So I  just hung up the call and went on to twitter.

Just see how shamelessly they mention that they were looking into the situation. Ghanta! They did not do much about it. May be they thought it of less importance. 12th morning, I get a call that they would refund Rs. 200 for it and they could not do anything more. Place the order again, wait for 3-4 days more and this is how this problem is solved.

Now, you can see where Flipkart fails. I have never ever heard any one facing issues with Amazon's after services. They are sorted on this front. Flipkart's customer support has gone from bad to worse. They do not give a damn about the smoothening of the after sales process. Building heavy tech is just one aspect of an E-commerce. Services, customer support, returns, exchange is what all needed to be sorted. Flipkart is struggling on this front, I think. They are not doing a lot about it. Situation is getting bad and this is where Amazon is winning. Amazon's focus has always been on how customers are treated. Flipkart has to see all these things, failing which Amazon is going to kick their ass and I would be sad.

Is Flipkart better than Amazon in India?

Leave a Reply

